Industries of the future

Automotive industry, artificial intelligence and robotics, healthcare, the logistics and transport sector, the energy industry and the service sector for communication - these sectors are currently among the so-called future sectors.

FUTURE SECTORS

If a sector promises permanent, attractive demand and growth potential in the medium and long term, it is one of the future industries. How a good and innovative idea develops depends on many factors - and thus of course also on the industry in which you want to start up.

But just as little as you base your basic considerations on founding your own on the selection of a future industry, just as little a master baker will think about how he can develop an innovation for the telecommunications sector on the way to self-employment.

Rather, it is primarily worth taking a careful look at the industries of the future: Are there any points of contact for your start-up project? Because, in addition to new sectors, the sectors of the future can also include very traditional sectors in transition. What needs in these industries could you meet? Which developments in one of these future industries will have an impact on your corporate planning? Are there target groups overlapping or is there perhaps a completely new target group for your company as a result of developments and trends in an industry of the future? Which future industries are particularly well represented in the immediate vicinity, in the Rhine-Neckar metropolitan region? Where are exchange and participation exciting for you?

Digital business models are particularly promising when considering future industries, as their innovations are often used in many areas. But a more detailed examination is also worthwhile for all other business models - and if it only serves to address target groups more precisely in the immediate corporate environment.

At this point we present two future industries that meet well-networked cooperation in the Rhine-Neckar metropolitan region. We will gradually add the latest news.  

HEALTHCARE

A very recent example from the healthcare sector in the Rhine-Neckar metropolitan region is a new network: Initiated by large research institutions such as the Heidelberg University Hospital, the German Cancer Research Center, the European Molecular Biology Laboratory, the Ruprecht-Karls-Universität Heidelberg and the Max-Planck -Institute for Medical Research, a network of science, business and cities in the Rhine-Neckar metropolitan region has formed in order to exploit the enormous potential of scientific excellence Health / life sciences (medicine, biology, chemistry, pharmacy and engineering) in the metropolitan region. More start-ups and products in the life science sector are to be created. As network coordinator Dr. Tilman Krauch, Freudenberg board member and innovation driver on the board of the Future Metropolitan Region Rhine-Neckar Association, announced that an action plan should be presented by autumn 2020.
Healthcare is an industry with huge growth opportunities. Prevention, medication, medical technology and the latest diagnostic methods - health care is getting better and better, and people's lifespan and quality of life are increasing. Digital data is also becoming more and more central in this area: from modern diagnostic process concepts to digital health assistants to technology-based treatment measures - the branch of health care primarily serves to further develop the possibilities that are possible within medicine. Everyone involved should benefit, both the medical staff and the person to be treated. Developments such as software offers, HealthCare apps and e-health developments have the greatest prospect of success. The optimization of outdated methods, the digital analysis and documentation of test results are just examples of promising ideas. But also financial technology solutions are interesting, for example when it comes to the settlement with the health insurance companies.

CULTURAL AND CREATIVE INDUSTRY

Over 256.000 companies with around 1,2 million employees are active in the cultural and creative industries in Germany. The cultural and creative industries include all activities related to culture and media in the broadest sense.

The basis of this branch are the people themselves, with their creative and creative activities. Musicians * and classical artists * fall under this category as well as people from the software and game industry, advertising, the press and architecture. They mainly deal with the creation, production and (media) distribution of their cultural and creative goods and services. Traditional economic sectors, new technologies and modern forms of information and communication are combined with one another.

Even if this industry is struggling particularly hard due to COVID 19: It has been developing into a strong branch of the economy since the late 1980s. In terms of added value, their contribution to overall economic performance has long since exceeded that of many other industries.

The federal states and municipalities have recognized the importance of correct promotion of the cultural and creative industries and are setting up more and more contact points. Because the cultural environment of a region is often also an important point for a company to settle in a location.
The Rhine-Neckar metropolitan region is a cultural and creative region: This is demonstrated by outstanding training facilities such as the Popakademie Baden-Württemberg, the Faculty of Design at the Mannheim University of Applied Sciences or the numerous courses of study at universities for the cultural and creative field. This is also evident in institutions such as the cultural office of the Rhine-Neckar metropolitan region, the “Kulturvision Rhein-Neckar”, which describes the guidelines for coordinated and long-term cultural development in the border triangle of Baden-Hesse-Palatinate as a shared self-image of culture, business and administration Lively exchange in networks, start-up centers, cooperation exchanges, funding or in current initiatives:

Culture in the MRN

“With the Kulturvision we have developed a clear strategy for regional cultural work in the Rhine-Neckar metropolitan region. We distinguish ourselves in particular through the first vision goal: The fact that we understand and use culture and art as engines for social and regional development clearly distinguishes us from other regions. " Peter Kurz, Lord Mayor of the City of Mannheim and spokesman for the "Kulturvision" working group

Cultural vision of the Rhine-Neckar

Contact the IHK creative industry network

Quick and unbureaucratic help through "Support your local artist"   

Gehe zu
Contacts
Starter center of the IHK Rhein-Neckar
Phone: + 49 (0) 6221 9017-688 startercenter@rhein-neckar.ihk24.de

IHK / HWK starter centers in Rhineland-Palatinate
Phone: + 49 (0) 621 5904-0 service@pfalz.ihk24.de

IHK for Rheinhessen
Foundation and promotion

Phone: + 49 (0) 6131 262-0 service@rheinhessen.ihk24.de

Chamber of Commerce Darmstadt Rhein Main Neckar Phone: + 49 (0) 6151 871-0 info@darmstadt.ihk.de

Zukunftsbranchen

Automobilindustrie, künstliche Intelligenz und Robotik, Gesundheitswesen, der Logistik- und Transportsektor, die Energiewirtschaft und der Dienstleistungssektor für Kommunikation – diese Branchen gehören aktuell zu den sogenannten Zukunftsbranchen.

ZUKUNFTSBRANCHEN

Verspricht ein Sektor mittel- und langfristig eine dauerhafte, anziehende Nachfrage und Wachstumspotential, zählt er zu den Zukunftsbranchen. Wie sich eine gute und innovative Idee entwickelt, hängt von vielen Faktoren ab – und somit natürlich auch von der Branche, in welcher man gründen möchte.

Doch ebenso wenig, wie man seine grundlegenden Überlegungen zur eigenen Gründung erst einmal auf die Auswahl einer Zukunftsbranche aufbaut, so wenig wird sich ein Bäckermeister auf dem Weg in die Selbstständigkeit überlegen, wie er eine Innovation für den Telekommunikationssektor entwickeln kann.

Vielmehr lohnt sich in erster Linie ein aufmerksamer Blick auf die Zukunftsbranchen: Gibt es Anknüpfungspunkte für Ihr Gründungsvorhaben? Denn zu den Zukunftsbranchen können neben neuen Branchen auch ganz traditionelle Sektoren im Wandel zählen. Welchen Bedarf dieser Branchen könnten Sie decken? Welche Entwicklung einer dieser Zukunftsbranchen hat Auswirkungen auf Ihre Unternehmensplanung? Gibt es Zielgruppenüberschneidungen oder entsteht durch Entwicklungen und Trends in einer Zukunftsbranche vielleicht eine ganz neue Zielgruppe für ihr Unternehmen? Welche Zukunftsbranchen sind im direkten Umfeld, in der Metropolregion Rhein-Neckar, besonders stark vertreten? Wo sind Austausch und Mitwirkung spannend für Sie?

Digitale Geschäftsmodelle sind in Überlegungen hinsichtlich Zukunftsbranchen besonders chancenreich, da ihre Innovationen häufig in vielen Bereichen Verwendung finden. Doch auch für alle anderen Geschäftsmodelle lohnt sich eine eingehendere Betrachtung – und wenn es lediglich einer passgenaueren Zielgruppenansprache im unmittelbaren Unternehmensumfeld dient.

Zwei Zukunftsbranchen, die in der Metropolregion Rhein-Neckar auf ein gut vernetztes Miteinander treffen, stellen wir an dieser Stelle beispielhaft vor. Mit aktuellen Nachrichten werden wir weitere sukzessive ergänzen.  

GESUNDHEITSWESEN

Ein ganz aktuelles Beispiel aus dem Bereich Gesundheitswesen der Metropolregion Rhein-Neckar ist ein neues Netzwerk: Angestoßen von großen Forschungseinrichtungen, wie dem Universitätsklinikum Heidelberg, dem Deutschen Krebsforschungszentrum, dem Europäischen Laboratorium für Molekularbiologie, der Ruprecht-Karls-Universität Heidelberg und dem Max-Planck-Institut für Medizinische Forschung, hat sich ein Netzwerk aus Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft und Städten der Metropolregion Rhein-Neckar gebildet, um die enormen Potenziale wissenschaftlicher Spitzenleistung der Gesundheits- / Lebenswissenschaften (Medizin, Biologie, Chemie, Pharmazie und Ingenieurswissenschaften) in der Metropolregion stärker auszuschöpfen. Es sollen mehr Start-up-Unternehmen und Produkte im Bereich Life Science entstehen. Wie Netzwerk-Koordinator Dr. Tilman Krauch, Freudenberg-Vorstandsmitglied und Thementreiber Innovation im Vorstand des Vereins Zukunft Metropolregion Rhein-Neckar, ankündigt, soll bis Herbst 2020 ein Aktionsplan vorgestellt werden.
Das Gesundheitswesen ist ein Wirtschaftszweig mit riesigen Wachstumschancen. Vorsorge, Medikamente, Medizintechnik und neueste Diagnoseverfahren – die Gesundheitsversorgung wird immer besser, Lebensdauer und Lebensqualität der Menschen nehmen zu. Digitale Daten werden auch in diesem Bereich immer zentraler: Von modernen Diagnoseverfahrenskonzepten über digitale Gesundheitsassistenten bis hin zu technologiebasierten Behandlungsmaßnahmen – der Zweig des Gesundheitswesens dient vor allem der Weiterentwicklung der Möglichkeiten, die innerhalb der Medizin möglich sind. Dabei sollen alle Beteiligten davon profitieren, sowohl das ärztliche Fachpersonal als auch die zu behandelnde Person. Die größte Aussicht auf Erfolg haben Entwicklungen, wie Software-Angebote, HealthCare-Apps und E-Health-Entwicklungen. Die Optimierung von veralteten Methoden, die digitale Analyse und Dokumentation von Untersuchungsergebnissen sind nur Beispiele von erfolgsversprechenden Ideen. Aber auch Finanztechnologische Lösungen sind interessant, beispielsweise wenn es um die Abwicklungen mit den Krankenkassen geht.

KULTUR- UND KREATIVWIRTSCHAFT

Über 256.000 Unternehmen mit circa 1,2 Millionen Erwerbstätigen sind in Deutschland in der Kultur- und Kreativwirtschaft, in den „creative industries“, tätig. Die Kultur- und Kreativwirtschaft umfasst alle mit Kultur und Medien im weitesten Sinne verbundenen Aktivitäten.

Die Basis dieses Zweigs sind die Menschen, mit ihren schöpferischen und gestalterischen Tätigkeiten, selbst. Musiker*innen und klassische Künstler*innen fallen ebenso unter die Kategorie wie Menschen aus der Software- und Gameindustrie, der Werbung, der Presse und der Architektur. Sie beschäftigen sich hauptsächlich mit der Schaffung, Produktion, und (medialen) Verteilung von ihren kulturellen und kreativen Gütern und Dienstleistungen. Es werden traditionelle Wirtschaftsbereiche, neue Technologien und moderne Informations- und Kommunikationsformen miteinander verbunden.

Auch wenn gerade diese Branche durch COVID 19 besonders stark zu kämpfen hat: Sie entwickelt sich seit Ende der 1980er zu einem starken Wirtschaftszweig. Ihr Beitrag zur volkswirtschaftlichen Gesamtleistung übertrifft in Sachen Wertschöpfung längst den Beitrag vieler anderer Branchen.

Die Länder und Kommunen haben erkannt, welch eine Bedeutung richtige Förderung der Kultur- und Kreativwirtschaft bedeutet und richten immer mehr Anlaufstellen ein. Denn das kulturelle Umfeld einer Region gilt vielfach auch als wichtiger Punkt für die Ansiedelung eines Unternehmens an einem Standort.
Die Metropolregion Rhein-Neckar ist eine Kultur- und Kreativregion: Das zeigt sich durch herausragende Ausbildungsstätten, wie die Popakademie Baden-Württemberg, die Fakultät für Gestaltung an der Hochschule Mannheim oder die zahlreichen Studiengänge der Universitäten für den Kultur- und Kreativbereich. Das zeigt sich ebenso durch Einrichtungen wie das Kulturbüro der Metropolregion Rhein-Neckar, die „Kulturvision Rhein-Neckar“, die als gemeinsames Selbstverständnis von Kultur, Wirtschaft und Verwaltung die Leitlinien einer abgestimmten und langfristigen Kulturentwicklung im Dreiländereck Baden-Hessen-Pfalz beschreibt sowie den regen Austausch in Netzwerken, Gründerzentren, Kooperationsbörsen, Förderungen oder auch in aktuellen Initiativen:

Kultur in der MRN

„Mit der Kulturvision haben wir eine klare Strategie für die regionale Kulturarbeit in der Metropolregion Rhein-Neckar entwickelt. Dabei profilieren wir uns insbesondere durch das erste Visionsziel: Dass wir Kultur und Kunst als Motoren für die gesellschaftliche und regionale Entwicklung verstehen und nutzen, unterscheidet uns deutlich von anderen Regionen.“ Dr. Peter Kurz, Oberbürgermeister der Stadt Mannheim und Sprecher der AG „Kulturvision“

Kulturvision Rhein-Neckar

Kontakt zum IHK-Netzwerk Kreativwirtschaft

Schnelle und unbürokratische Hilfe durch „Support your local artist“   

Kontakte
Startercenter der IHK Rhein-Neckar
Tel.: +49 (0) 6221 9017-688 startercenter@rhein-neckar.ihk24.de

IHK/HWK-Starterzentren Rheinland-Pfalz
Tel.: +49 (0) 621 5904-0 service@pfalz.ihk24.de

IHK für Rheinhessen
Gründung und Förderung

Tel.: +49 (0) 6131 262-0 service@rheinhessen.ihk24.de

IHK Darmstadt Rhein Main Neckar Tel.: +49 (0) 6151 871-0 info@darmstadt.ihk.de